AngelHack Blog - Startups, Innovation, Accelerators & more

Internet's Own Boy

Jul 2, 2014 2:15:00 PM / by casecase

 

                                                                                                                                AHCrown.jpg

“On the Internet everyone has a license to speak, it’s a matter of who gets heard.”

- Aaron Swartz

In honor of one of the Internet’s most valiant defenders, Aaron Swartz, AngelHack will be hosting a global online community screening of the recently released documentary - The Internet’s Own Boy.

Having developed RSS, Creative Commons, and Reddit, Aaron was a major contributor to the Internet we use today. In 26 short years, he was able to leave a legacy of incredible technical craftsmanship as well as unbelievable activism and leadership.

We want to honor him and spread knowledge of his story across the AngelHack community globally.

Please join us:

(depending on your time zone)

globe.jpg

Thursday, July 17th

12am - 2am San Francisco / Los Angeles

3am - 5am New York City / Mexico City / Santiago (sorry guys!)

4am - 6am Buenos Aires / Sao Paulo (even sorrier!)

 

Friday, July 18th

8am - 10am London

9am - 11am Berlin / Paris

10am - 12pm Tel Aviv

11 am - 1pm Dubai / Moscow

12:30pm - 2:30pm All of India

2 - 4pm Bangkok

3 - 5pm Singapore / Kuala Lampur / Manila / Beijing / Hong Kong

Here is the custom link to our viewing room!

^ Join all of us here at the time listed above.

We’ll be using Watch2gether for chatting and good old fashioned YouTube.

To RSVP in advance, e-mail AngelHack’s Community Manager

Kam at kam@angelhack.com!

Pissed about the timing?

Also let Kam know what date/time works best for you!

The Internet’s Own Boy Trailer:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/RvsxnOg0bJY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

About The Internet’s Own Boy:

The Internet’s Own Boy follows the story of programming prodigy and information activist Aaron Swartz. From Swartz's help in the development of the basic internet protocol RSS to his co-founding of Reddit, his fingerprints are all over the internet. But it was Swartz's groundbreaking work in social justice and political organizing combined with his aggressive approach to information access that ensnared him in a two-year legal nightmare. It was a battle that ended with the taking of his own life at the age of 26. Aaron's story touched a nerve with people far beyond the online communities in which he was a celebrity. This film is a personal story about what we lose when we are tone deaf about technology and its relationship to our civil liberties.

casecase

Written by casecase